• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

How to keep articles organized

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
32 replies to this topic

#1 kokoro

kokoro

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Neutral

Posted 11 August 2009 - 11:16 PM

Hello hello,

I hope everyone's enjoying the summer!!

I needed some opinions about how to keep myself and these papers organized, and would appreciate any help.
In particular I was hoping for some sort of software to keep me on track, but again any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

I'm a first year Grad Student and I spend a good deal of time reading to just basically catch-up, so I'm getting to the point where I've got piles of papers on my desk which I strongly feel I should do something about. For now, papers are separated topic-wise (revolving around NF-kB and the numerous tangents that can be drawn from it)... and that's probably about it... papers have read-unread marks on them, a few notes, and they are just piled high

Just looking ahead, I know I'm going to have trouble revisiting and finding some of these articles. Is an Excel file plausible?
Let me know what you guys do with what you read. My supervisor is able to sort what he needs from the trash, but you know, I'm not anywhere near that stage... and besides, I am for the most part focusing on major journals... so there isn't anything that's screaming to be thrown out

Thank you guys,
anderson

#2 Doki

Doki

Veteran

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 265 posts
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2009 - 12:36 AM