• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

cloning trouble

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 crackanaut

crackanaut

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
Neutral

Posted 17 March 2009 - 06:29 PM

Hello all, I'm quite new at cloning.. i'm using a kit from invitrogen. the pcr product i want to clone is 5 kb and i'm using chemically competent cells which i've stored in a -80 freezer. My first two trials yielded no results-no colonies- so i began to doubt the competency of the cells (there have been power failures), the second time around i plated some on Macconkey. I got a few colonies and I've inoculated those into LB, hoping its the strain I want. Can someone suggest a simple do-it-urself method for transforming this culture? Can I try electroporation with the same? Also, I've more vials of competent cells left in the freezer but i suspect that there are only a few viable competent cells in the vials of the kit-would it be better if I incubated the vector-cell mixture in SOC medium after transformation, for a day before plating out on LB kanamycin plates? Many thanks..

Edited by crackanaut, 17 March 2009 - 06:35 PM.

#2 noelmathur

noelmathur

Enthusiast

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 72 posts
Neutral

Posted 17 March 2009 - 11:12 PM

Honestly, I am not very clear how are you trying to clone your insert, is it TA cloning? or which other kit are you using? Without knowing what are you using, I doubt anybody can help you.

Edited by noelmathur, 17 March 2009 - 11:12 PM.

#3 almost a doctor

almost a doctor

Veteran

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 244 posts
Good

Posted 18 March 2009 - 12:57 AM

What makes you think is the transformation that is failing, and not any of the other steps?