• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

What went wrong in my qPCR?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
27 replies to this topic

#1 molecular_medicine

molecular_medicine

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Neutral

Posted 19 February 2009 - 08:28 AM

Hi all,

I am a newbie to qPCR.. I did a couple of runs of qPCR. I used the power SYBR green kit from applied biosystems, and used pre designed primers. I did have a bit of contamination in a few samples (checked it with my RT- samples). I am sorting out other issues. For now, please have a look at my dissociation curve, people find it very weird but none has an idea why this would be happen. Can anybody please help me trouble shoot this problem!!??!! pleeeeeeease!!!!!!!!! :lol:

Attached Thumbnails

• melting_curve___norm_hypo_2_hrs_mda.JPG

#2 pcrman

pcrman

Epigenetist

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,165 posts
Excellent

Posted 19 February 2009 - 08:06 PM

The dissociation curve does look weird. Have you run a regular PCR with the primers and your samples? That may give you an idea what is wrong.

#3 molecular_medicine

molecular_medicine

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
Neutral

Posted 24 February 2009 - 05:44 AM

Hi all,

Sorry I figured out why it looked very weird.... I did not omit the empty well during analysis... now that I did it, my melting curve still looks weird, but better than before. can you please pour ur suggestions as to why it still looks weird?? please!!!!!!!!! thanks...

Attached Thumbnails

• melting_curve___norm_hypo_4hrs_mda.JPG

#4 littleaxt

littleaxt

Enthusiast

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 35 posts
Neutral

Posted 25 February 2009 - 02:32 AM