• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo

I'm lost... What to do after PhD???

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 julie

julie

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Neutral

Posted 17 December 2004 - 01:50 AM

Hello

I'm 24, I live in Belgium, I graduated last year and I'm currently in my second PhD year (I'm suppose to be done after 4 years).
The thing is, as time goes by I'm starting to realize I don't feel like doing research that much and I'm asking myself, :( "am I on the wrong path???".

You see, I hear so many people saying that one should choose between research and family (love, whatever) life and all that stuff, and even if I admire very much people making that choice, it's making me want to run away (and fast!), because I'd like to have a family life, I'd like to raise my kids myself, I'd like to keep on doing sport... Besides, I'd hate having to go abroad for months, which everyone around me thinks I should do and can't even imagine I wouldn't want to. Hey I'm like that, I don't see the point of finding the love of your life (which I luckily did 6 years ago :wub: ) and leave without him for months! To make it short, there are some (apparently unavoidable) sacrifices I'm not willing to make.

So my question is : knowing that I won't do any postdoc, that I'm certainely not the 12-hours-working-a-day person, should I be a good girl and finish the job so that everyone can call me doctor,and then what are the job options for a PhD owner?? Or should I stop right away and find some hum-drum classical 38 hours a week job (as a technician or something)?

Of course I really can't speak about this with my boss (who is very proud of having come close to divorce three times in his carreer because of never being home), and I don't know anyone else I could speak about this with...