• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

Why meoisis needs chromosome replication?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 mr02077

mr02077

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Neutral

Posted 14 September 2018 - 05:29 AM

Hi. I am a mathematician who just likes reading on molecular biology.

My question is:
why does meiosis needs chromosomes replication in S phase? Why would not it have been developed through evolution, for example, just to do recombination between homologous chromosomes right away and split the recombined chromosomes to get two haploid cells?

Meosis is uniform in the way it functions for all multicellulals, where it is used, so it must be that the current process details are advantegous to other combinations.

One benefit I would see is production of more gametes, which deals with two-fold cost of sex better. But again, the cell could be replicating genes for 2 or more times, in meiosis, to be even more efficient, but only this unique model with single replication is ubiqutous.
What are the exact benefits of it?

I hope you understand my question well. Thank you for helping

Edited by mr02077, 14 September 2018 - 07:28 AM.

#2 pito

pito

Veteran

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,472 posts
Excellent

Posted 14 September 2018 - 11:39 AM

Hi. I am a mathematician who just likes reading on molecular biology.

My question is:
why does meiosis needs chromosomes replication in S phase? Why would not it have been developed through evolution, for example, just to do recombination between homologous chromosomes right away and split the recombined chromosomes to get two haploid cells?

Meosis is uniform in the way it functions for all multicellulals, where it is used, so it must be that the current process details are advantegous to other combinations.