• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!

Help ID fluoescently-labelled cells in the gut very much appreciated!

immunofluorescence gut

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 MC_london

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 21 January 2015 - 04:18 AM

Hi all, 

I have just found this forum (after much searching!) and wonder if anyone can help me ID some cells that I am having trouble with. 

I'm new to immunofluorescence staining of the gut and am wondering what the best antibodies I can purchase to test next are!

I'll attach the pic with my cells of interest stained green.  There seem to be 2 types;

1- the larger cells found at the base of the villi : I think in the crypts of lieberkuhn/ intestinal glands - I guess they are most likely goblet cells or enteroendocrine cells - but my concern with this is that they seem to be inside the gland rather than part of the epithelial layer and also they seem too spherical to me- what do you think? I think they aren't Paneth cells as these are located at the base of the crypts s far as I can see!

2- the smaller cells in the lamina propria: these seem to me to be contained within a linear structure -possibly the lymph vessel? The staining is not comparable to say CD45 staining so I don't think they are immune cells.  thy have a nucleus so I also don't think autofluorescing rbcs - though I may be wrong? 

If you've got this far and have any ideas at all thank you very much, any advice appreciated :)

8 x10 v2.jpg

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 140 posts

Posted 21 January 2015 - 06:13 AM

Histology has never been a strong suit for me. I am sure someone will answer your questions here, but if you work in/near a research hospital, a quick visit to the pathology department or vet path may give your very authentic answers.

Would appreciate your feedback, though!