• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

yeast two hybridization

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 macedo

macedo

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Neutral

Posted 19 July 2004 - 06:09 AM

Hello,

I am a pHD student and I just started working with the yeast two hybrid system to find new protein interactors with the protein I am studying.

I started by testing some known protein interactors in order to know if thechnically I am doing things well.

The problem is that I am able to get my transformed yeast growing in medium stringency selective media plates BUT I am not able to get positive blue colonies when I do the alpha-galactosidase assay.

My solution for the X-Gal filetr assy is composed by:
Z-buffer (pH 7.0) + 0.3mg/ml X-Gal (20mg/ml stock diluted in Dimethylformamide)+ 0.27% beta-mercaptoethanol

Z-buffer= 60mM Na2HPO4, 40mM NaH2PO4, 10mM KCl and 1mM MgSO4.

I don't know what is the purpose of using beta-mercaptoethanol in the solution. can someone tell me please? It is in the recipe given by Clontech but I don't know if I need to have it because other protocols don't use it.

I also don't know what is the best way and temperature to incubate the filters. Do you know if is better doing X-Gal at 30C, Room temperature or 37C?

thank you very much for your time,

Maria

#2 zienpiggie

zienpiggie

Veteran

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 139 posts
Neutral

Posted 25 July 2004 - 04:43 PM

My understanding is that beta mercaptoethanol is often used to break disulfide bonds in proteins.

#3 tltan

tltan

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Neutral

Posted 16 August 2004 - 06:26 AM

Hi,

In our lab, x-alpha gal is usually added into the SD media plates and the colonies to be tested is streaked onto it.