• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

strange transcription with T7 RNA polymerase

in-vitro transcription

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 lo_ken

lo_ken

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Neutral

Posted 12 August 2013 - 01:59 PM

Hi all,

I am encountering a very strange problem that I do not understand as I am relatively new to in-vitro transcription, so I am hoping to leverage others who do this a lot.

Here is my problem.  I am trying to express 5 small RNAs (25 to 65bp) and perform some downstream reactions with them.  So I designed oligonucleotides that contains the T7 promoter upstream of my desired complementary DNA sequences (5 different oligos).  I mix the 5 different oligos at the same molar concentration and perform a 10-fold dilution series.  I then add the T7 RNA polymerase complement (another oligo) and perform hybridization by heating to 60C then ramping temperature down at 0.1C /s to RT.  Then I add T7 RNA polymerase and incubate at 37C for 3 hours.  I then run a denaturing PAGE on the product.

What is strange is that I see a laddering pattern at ~20, 40, 60, 80, 100, 120, 140, 160, 200, ... all the way past 300bp (I can tell too well beyond 300 'cos I am running a 15% TBU gel) for all of the reactions.  This is especially apparent in the lower concentrations (I have one where I didn't put in any template and I see the exact same thing).  I then tried to exclude the T7 RNA polymerase complement and the lane turns up empty.  

I also tried digesting the in-vitro transcription product with RQ1 (RNase free DNase) and the laddering remains, meaning that the product is indeed RNA.