• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

Is this primer okay?

primer PCR

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 JianxiaoHuang

JianxiaoHuang

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Neutral

Posted 01 August 2013 - 05:45 AM

hi everbody

I need to get rid of dimer of primer and ensure the Tm value is about 60oC, so I add some bases, which dose not pair with the template in the middle, to this primer.

can anybody tell me whether or not this primer works in qPCR.

Attached Thumbnails

• U@A5KMO1VXG_XTYO33ZJ`1.jpg

#2 bob1

bob1

Thelymitra pulchella

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,674 posts
Excellent

Posted 01 August 2013 - 12:46 PM

I'm no expert on qPCR, so you can take this any way you want, but for maximal efficiency you would need to use a primer that binds completely to the target, adding bases inside primers is never a good idea unless you want to generate mutants (e.g. site directed mutagenesis), as these additions lower the efficiency of the PCR.

#3 JianxiaoHuang

JianxiaoHuang

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Neutral

Posted 01 August 2013 - 01:27 PM

I'm no expert on qPCR, so you can take this any way you want, but for maximal efficiency you would need to use a primer that binds completely to the target, adding bases inside primers is never a good idea unless you want to generate mutants (e.g. site directed mutagenesis), as these additions lower the efficiency of the PCR.

Thank you, bob1

#4 phage434

phage434

Veteran

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,453 posts
Excellent

Posted 01 August 2013 - 05:46 PM