• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

Neutralization assay calculation

calculation antibody

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 monroe

monroe

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Neutral

Posted 08 July 2013 - 11:21 AM

Hi All,

I am new to this assay and I had a very basic calculation question. In neutralization assay I incubate 50ul of 100ug/ml ab with 50ul virus for 1H at 37 and then add 100ul of cells. My question is what is the final concentration of the Ab that I am testing. Is it 50ug/ml (1+1 = Ab+Virus) or 25ug/ml (considering the dilution factor after adding cells (1+1+2: Ab+Virus:cells).
I appreciate you response.

Thanks.

#2 bob1

bob1

Thelymitra pulchella

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,831 posts
Excellent

Posted 08 July 2013 - 12:52 PM

The way to calculate this is using C1V1=C2V2 you have initial concentration (100 ug/ml) and volume (50 ul) and you have final volume (50 + 50 + 100)...

#3 monroe

monroe

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
Neutral

Posted 09 July 2013 - 08:59 AM

Thanks Bob,
I think I was not able to clarify. As an example, suppose I get 50% neutralization say at a particular Ab concentration. In that case the calculated inhibitory concentrations will refer to the antibody concentrations in the preincubation mixture (virus+ Ab: 50+50) which will be 50ug/ml of Ab or after adding the cells (50+50+100: Ab+Virus:cells) which will then be 25ug/ml. So when you report the neutralization activity of the ab in this particular case what will you say "50% neutralization was seen at 50ug/ml or 25ug/ml of Ab.

#4 bob1

bob1

Thelymitra pulchella

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,831 posts
Excellent

Posted 09 July 2013 - 12:34 PM