• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo

New to the field - literature advice needed

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 aerkenemesis

aerkenemesis

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Neutral

Posted 13 April 2013 - 12:49 PM

Greetings!

I would like to introduce myself in this first post of mine with some background information.

I am a 28 year old male from Sweden, living in the capital city of Stockholm. I have a masters degree in mechanical engineering (robotics).

I have recently taken on a very intense interest in microbiology, this microbiological interest comes from my interest in organic gardening.

I am currently in the state that I pretty much understand what goes on in the soil and around the roots of the plants. I have cultures Lactic acid bacteria and bacterial/fungal soil samples from different forests.

This interest have intensified immensely over the last few months, to the point where I want to start learning more about microbiology on a more scientific level and also get me a small lab with a microscope as the top priority.

I am now turning to you, my fellow scientists. Please share with me your recommended literature for my particular situation. I think that at this point I want to take on a little more of a practical approach; learning the science as I go.

For now I want to:
- Evaluate the quality of my cultures
- Evaluate the methods of culturing I use
- Understand how to store my cultures and how it impacts them
- Understand to a greater extent how they affect my soil, the plants and organic matter

I realize that when I say culture you think of a glass platter with a few hundred microbes, what I actually mean is a pretty large jar of goo which I use as a soil inoculant.

I really hope to get some good replies, Thank You!

#2 aimikins

aimikins

Sunflower

• Global Moderators