• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

how to determine a plant promoter activity in bacteria

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 mbsea

mbsea

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Neutral

Posted 20 August 2011 - 06:06 AM

Hi everybody,

i am studying on a plant gene promoter. i identify its sequence but i want to determine its activity. I can' t do it by plant cell culture in my lab so i must try it by bacteria. Does anybody know or offer a protochol or a kit for this?I want to clone this promoter and determine its activity in bacteria by calculating luminometer. I am waiting for your advices.
Best wishes...

#2 phage434

phage434

Veteran

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,467 posts
Excellent

Posted 20 August 2011 - 06:19 AM

Plant transcription and bacterial transcription differ so greatly that any measurement you make will be meaningless. The signals needed to transcribe plant genes are very different and much more complex than those used by bacteria. In general, any transcription from a plant promoter in bacteria would be accidental, and not related to the activity of a promoter in its natural context.

#3 mbsea

mbsea

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
Neutral

Posted 21 August 2011 - 04:47 AM

Thank you very much for your answer. You mean that i have no chance with it. How dou you think i can determine that the sequence i found is a real promoter? Could you please give me an advice about that?
Best wishes...

#4 phage434

phage434

Veteran

• Global Moderators
  • 2,467 posts
Excellent

Posted 21 August 2011 - 06:17 AM

Your best approach would be to fuse the promoter to a reporter gene active in the plant of interest, then transfect your plant with that construct. Not easy, and certainly not the first thing you should attempt.

#5 mbsea

mbsea

• Active Members