• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

Perl... how on earth do i start?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Dominic

Dominic

Enthusiast

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 47 posts
Neutral

Posted 20 July 2011 - 06:09 PM

howdy peeps.. long time no see

i'm looking to start learning Perl but frankly simply getting started is doing my nut in.

Taking into account i have no experience of programming whatsoever (unless you count "BASIC" in college) and am self teaching from info i am gathering from the web... how on earth do i start?

so far ive gotten my hands on :-
perl cookbook
Learning perl on win32
Pspad editor
Activeperl 5.12.4 build 1205 (which contains perl critic + perl package manager)

im assuming you type the programming into the pspad editor but then how do you run it?
is there a better (free) program or setup i can download where i simply type the stuff then run it?

i know it sounds like a daft question but i cant begin to learn the language till i can get the computer to say "hello world" to me.

any help would be greatly appreciated

dom

#2 Adrian K

Adrian K

Legendary Graduate Beggar

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 708 posts
Excellent

Posted 21 July 2011 - 07:01 AM

Try strawberry perl... if you are using windows.
http://strawberryperl.com/

Don't ask me much... I am still learning as well...
Expecting the world to treat you fairly because you are a good person is like expecting the lion not to attack you because you are a vegetarian.

..."best of our knowledge, as far as we know this had never been reported before, though I can't possible read all the published journals on earth, but by perform thorough search in google, the keywords did not match any documents"...

"what doesn't kill you, makes you stronger"---Goddess Casandra reminds me to be strong