• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

No events in my EPSC

• Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic

#1 sharma

sharma

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Neutral

Posted 21 December 2010 - 09:25 AM

Hello,
I am a graduate students who is trying to record spontaneous EPSCs from primary neuronal cultures obtained from chick ciliary ganglion (E8 i.e.e 8 days eggs post fertilization). These neurons are abundant in nicotinic receptors. my cultures look great but when i record using silgard coated pipettes i do not see events. Here's the protocol that i use. Any help whatsoever, would be deeply appreciated because i am in a very difficult situation.

E8 CG Culture

1. Acid wash the coverslips (Fisher, No 1, 12 mm) for 72 hours with Nitric Acid, then wash 20 times with Fisher boxed water, and twice with 95% ETOH (see seperate sheet), then dry. Put coverslips in the 24 well-dish before use.

2. Coat the coverslips with poly-L-Ornithine (Sigma, P-3655, 2 mg/ml stock stored at -20 C) (300 ul/coverslip (0.2-0.4 mg/ml), dissolved in 0.133M Borate Buffer, pH=8.4. The coating period has been suggested to be betwwen 2-24 hrs. P-DL-O (P 0671, Sigma) is used in Dr. Margiotta’s lab.

3. Wash coversliops with sterile Fisher Boxed water for at least 5 times, dry them and coat the coverslips with (300 l/coverslip, 10 - 40 g/ml in MEM) Laminin (Gibco, Cat#: 23017-015, stored at -80 C, ) for at least 1 hour(Again, it has been suggested to be between 2-24 hrs).

4. Wash the coverslips 3 times with MEM (Gibco), drain the MEM and put about 300 l culture medium (MEM, Glu, P/S, horse serum (Gibco)) to the wells, and put the plate in the CO2 incubator waiting for plating of cells.

5. Figure out the number of ganglia you need. For physiology, QNai use 2 ganglia/12 mm coverslip.