• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

Where can I find info on the physical appearance of TB cell wall structures?

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 cellartist

cellartist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Neutral

Posted 18 November 2010 - 09:09 PM

I am an artist wanting to depict the Tuberculosis bacterium wall with absolute accuracy.

Could anyone please let me know where might I find more information on
the actual physical appearance of:

Peptidoglycan
Mycolic acid
Dimycolate / Cord Factor
Wax-D

I am very grateful for any information. At this point I am not sure if the physical appearance has been determined. If it has not been I would appreciate any opinions on what they should look like based on function.

Thanks!

#2 bob1

bob1

Thelymitra pulchella

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,521 posts
Excellent

Posted 20 November 2010 - 01:51 PM

Your best bet will to be to go to a site like expasy.org or NCBI and search for the proteins there and see what comes up. I would be surprised if some of them have not been rendered into 3D shapes.

#3 josse

josse

Student

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 87 posts
Neutral

Posted 22 November 2010 - 04:23 AM

use google images..

Or like bob1 said: use expasy..

But how detailed do you need it?

I might be helpfull if you got hold of some picture made of the bacterium with a good microscope?

But are you planning on really drawing a structure of the cell with all the components in it?

It might also be helpfull if you check a general microbiology textbook like brooks to start with.

#4 cellartist

cellartist

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Neutral

Posted 23 November 2010 - 11:53 AM

Thanks so much for the links! They are fantastic!