• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

Research block

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 scgradstudent

scgradstudent

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Neutral

Posted 02 November 2010 - 12:43 PM

Hi,

I'm in a situation that no scientist really wants to be in. I'm currently a graduate student in a microbial ecology program, and I'm having trouble coming up with a new research topic. I've had projects in the past, but they failed me for various reasons. I'm currently trying to come up with a new research proposal, but for some reason I just can't formulate any good ideas/questions/hypotheses. I don't really know what to do and I need to have a plan ASAP. Has anyone experience this before? Do you have any helpful tips? Thank you

#2 BIOmotion

BIOmotion

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
Neutral

Posted 02 November 2010 - 04:12 PM

Is there a certain subject you would like to stay within? i.e fungus, bacteria, etc.

#3 scgradstudent

scgradstudent

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Neutral

Posted 02 November 2010 - 09:49 PM

Is there a certain subject you would like to stay within? i.e fungus, bacteria, etc.

bacteria...the lab I'm currently in most of our research is based out of the salt marsh. We (as a lab) has focused mostly on plant-bacteria interactions and bacteria in burrows.

#4 gebirgsziege

gebirgsziege

I like fungi

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 392 posts
Excellent

Posted 02 November 2010 - 11:03 PM

Why don't you talk to your supervisor? He or she has a bigger picture of the goal of the research and should be able to assist you to get back on the track.
A man cannot be too careful in the choice of his enemies. (Oscar Wilde)

#5 96well

96well

Enthusiast

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 43 posts
Neutral

Posted 03 November 2010 - 01:01 AM