• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

technicians and papers

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 fysio lab

fysio lab

Enthusiast

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 40 posts
Neutral

Posted 02 June 2010 - 06:32 AM

Hay
I'm a tech in a small lab...some time ago I was investing a lot of time in optimizing experiments and processing data...when the time was there to make a paper out of it I was withdrawn from the paper...it kinda hurt.
How do you feel about it? Some people will think it's normal not to put a technician on a paper, but actually I could have used it for future prospects...there's nothing I can do anymore, but I'm in doubt: work again this hard and hope to get some respect in the future or just come to work and do my job (as some people expect from a tech: they're 'just a pair of hands')

:(

#2 K.B.

K.B.

Veteran

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts
Neutral

Posted 02 June 2010 - 08:05 AM

I don't know how it is where you're from, but in my country it's quite simple - if you're a technician and only do what and how you're told ie. you have very little or no intellectual input (creative work), just hard labour, then it's up to your boss to put you or not into paper.

(You may consult a lawyer what is and isn't considered intellectual input/work under your law and how it is dealt with in your country.)

#3 casandra

casandra

carpe diem by the jugulum

• Global Moderators
  • 5,034 posts
Excellent

Posted 02 June 2010 - 08:19 AM

Hi fysio lab,

Welcome to bioforum. What did you mean “your name was withdrawn from the paper”? Did you have a previous arrangement with the main author of the paper or the PI that you would be included in it? If you did or you were promised this then yes, it sucks and I understand why you’re disappointed and demoralised.