• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

non desired brigther bands

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 pba

pba

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Neutral

Posted 25 November 2009 - 11:48 AM

Hello all,

I'm new in western blot technique. I'm running 30microg protein content form lysis cells. I want to detect Bcl2 protein. I detect my band but also some tenue higher bands. And also a lower band which is much brigther than my target band. What I'm doing wrong? can be some degradatation of the protein? I prepare the samples by mixing with SDS and mercaptoethanol, 95C, 3 min. I don the incubation of primary antibody with 5% pbs-t overnigth at 4C and the secondary with 5% milk for 1:30h at RT. thanks a lot

#2 Prep!

Prep!

Am I me???!!!

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 517 posts
Neutral

Posted 26 November 2009 - 12:17 AM

30 mcg is too much for a western blot!!!!!!!
we incubate with primary adn secondary for 1 hour at rt on a shaker with TBS washes 5 min 3 times each.
May be too much of protein and too long an incubation times is leading to these observations!!!
Worst case your antibody might be cross reacting!!!
Support bacteria - They are the only culture some people have!!!
Cheers!!!

#3 nuris

nuris

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Neutral

Posted 26 November 2009 - 05:28 AM

OK, I'll try to reduce protein amount and incubation times. Do you use TBS or TBS-T? But for the secondary antibody I'm not able to wash completely the bands from primary antibody with 4 x 6 min washes

thanks a lot!!!!!!

#4 Prep!

Prep!

Am I me???!!!

• Active Members
  • 517 posts
Neutral

Posted 26 November 2009 - 06:56 PM

we use TBS and give 3 washes after primary adn secondary and incubate in both antibodies for an hour after blocking for half an hour!!!
Best luck!