• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

PCR without thermal cycler?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Pia

Pia

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Neutral

Posted 22 November 2009 - 05:44 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm new here, just joined and already have questions :lol:

Well, I am a grad.student and I am trying to know how could I do a PCR within 24 hours and no thermal cycler?

is there a way?

thanks a lot for your help!

#2 hobglobin

hobglobin

Growing old is mandatory, growing up is optional...

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,615 posts
Excellent

Posted 22 November 2009 - 05:52 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm new here, just joined and already have questions :lol:

Well, I am a grad.student and I am trying to know how could I do a PCR within 24 hours and no thermal cycler?

is there a way?

thanks a lot for your help!

Actually you only need three heat sources with annealing, elongation and denaturation temperatures, a clock and then put your cups manually from one source to the next for the needed time...water bathes or heat blocks are possible as heat sources....
if I remember right the first PCRs were done this way. If you do it don't forget the oil drop on the reaction mix to prevent evaporation and condensation at the lids...

Edited by hobglobin, 22 November 2009 - 06:02 AM.

A single lie is reproachable; a million lies is a statistic.
D. J. T.

#3 Prep!

Prep!

Am I me???!!!

• Active Members
  • 517 posts
Neutral

Posted 22 November 2009 - 07:44 PM

i second on what hob says and i have observed it works better in a heating block (dry heat ) than a wet water bath.
But this is a very very tedious job. I wonder why you would like to do it!!!
Best luck anyways!!
Support bacteria - They are the only culture some people have!!!
Cheers!!!

#4 aimikins

aimikins

Sunflower