• Log in with Facebook Log in with Twitter Log in with Windows Live Log In with Google      Sign In   
  • Create Account

Submit your paper to J Biol Methods today!
Photo
- - - - -

about the subarray

• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 fzhang

fzhang

• Active Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
Neutral

Posted 22 November 2009 - 05:42 AM

hi, everyone, I am a novice in the field of microarray and I have some questions.

My research object is a bacteria with about 2000 ORFs in total. And I found that many microarray manufacturers have different formats of dna chip. And some of these chips have many subarrays. Agilent for example, has chips in a 8 x 15K format.

I don't know much why we need to print as many as 8 identical subarrays on one carrier. Is this simply a technical duplication?

And I am going to study the expression profile of my bacteria under 2 different temperatures. And if I am going to use this 8 x 15K chip, I will have 8 duplications, right? Is it a great waste?

I am really puzzled at this. And thanks in advance!

#2 gogreen

gogreen

Somewhere I belong

• Active Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 90 posts
Neutral

Posted 23 November 2009 - 05:55 AM

Hi fzhang,

The Aglient's 8X15k means 8 identical arrays on 1 slide as you said...but doesn't mean you have to do technical replicates for the same sample on all the 8. You can actually hybridize 8 different samples which you can decide based on your interests..
Agilent offers 4 array formats..which are 1 array/slide, 2 arrays/slide, 4 arrays/slide, 8 arrays/slide..The number of probes printed varies from 244k, 105k, 44k and 15k respectively. The newer high density arrays are a million spots for the single array, 400k for 2 array/slide and so on.